Dr N Balakrishan has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Samuel Weiner Distinguished Visitor Award winner at the University of Manitoba.

Dr Ian Hambleton, Britton Chair, has been appointed the Director of the Fields Institute effective July 1, 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Paul McNicholas who has been named Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Computational Statistics. 

Dr Gail Wolkowicz co-authored a paper that won the "2015 Lord Robert May Best Paper Prize" by the Journal of Biological Dynamics.  This prize is awarded every 2 years for what is judged to be the best paper in the journal over the preceeding 2 years.

Statistical Society of Canada - Best Poster Prize


At the recent Statistical Society of Canada meetings in Halifax, Michael Li (MSc Statistics, supervised by Ben Bolker) was awarded the Best Poster Prize for his poster entitled "Modelling High-Resolution Animal Telemetry Data: Hidden Markov Models and Extensions".

McMaster Shines in 75th Putnam Competition

 McMaster Shines in 75th Putnam Competition. McMaster competed in the 75th annual William Lowell Putnam competition. This year saw 4520 peoople and 577 schools compete. The McMaster team of Sam Kim, Sean Ridout and George Zhang placed 51st which is the highest placement by a team from McMaster that anyone can remember. Congratulations to the team!



Congratulations to Dr Narayanaswamy Balakrishnan, who has received the title Distinguished University Professor, the highest honour an academic can receive from the University. The title was confered at the Faculty of Science Convocation Ceremony on June 12th, 2014. Dr Balakrishnan has been recognised for his exceptional career as a teacher, researcher, author, editor and global citizen, he is one of the most cited statisticians of all time and the most heavily cited researcher at McMaster, Balakrishnan has authored or co-authored more than 400 research papers across many disciplines. 
Dr Megumi Harada has been named a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Equivariant Symplectic and Algebraic Geometry.

Dr Megumi Harada was featured in NSERC's Celebration of Women in Math, along with other prominent and inspiring women in mathematics in Canada.

Nicholas Kevlahan hosted an Open Access Colloquium on Tuesday, April 29, 2014, where students, researchers and librarians engaged in a wide-ranging discussion of the challenges and opportunities due to the enormous changes in academic communication and in society, led by international experts on Open Access publishing and new forms of digital communication. For more information please see attached poster .
Dr Gail Wolkowicz is the recipient of the 2014 Krieger-Nelson Prize. Dr Wolkowicz received the prize in June at the Canadian Mathematics Society’s Summer Meeting in Winnipeg. The CMS Krieger-Nelson Prize was first awarded in 1995 to recognize female mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions in the area of mathematical research. Dr Wolkowicz is being recognised for her research in Mathematical Biology.

Go Back
McMaster University - Faculty of Science | Math & Stats